THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF BONNECHERE VALLEY MINUTES

INAUGURAL COUNCIL MEETING WEDNESDAY NOVEMBER 16, 2022 1:30 P.M. COUNCIL CHAMBERS, MUNICIPAL BUILDING & ZOOM CONFERENCING

PRESENT Mayor Jennifer Murphy

Councillor Merv Buckwald

Councillor John Epps (via zoom conferencing)

Councillor Brent Patrick
Councillor Tracey Sanderson

CAO Annette Gilchrist Deputy CAO Sandra Barr

REGRETS None

GALLERY None

WELCOME – CAO Annette Gilchrist welcomes everyone to the Inaugural Meeting.

INDIGENOUS ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

OATH OF OFFICE

<u>CALL TO ORDER</u> – Meeting was called to order

SUSPEND THE RULES

22.158 MOVED BYSECONDED BY
Brent Patrick
Merv Buckwald

THAT: Council approved Section 3.1 a) of the Procedural By-law be suspended to allow the Inaugural meeting to take place on Wednesday November 16, 2022.

Carried

ADDITIONS/CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA:

22.159 MOVED BYSECONDED BY

Brent Patrick

THAT: the agenda be accepted as presented.

Carried

PECUNIARY INTEREST OR GENERAL NATURE THEREOF

MAYORAL INAUGURAL ADDRESS

APPOINTMENTS

Resolutions to approve the following appointments:

1. Police Services Board

22.160 MOVED BY Tracey Sanderson

SECONDED BY John Epps

THAT: Merv Buckwald and Paul Prince be appointed to the Police Service Board for a period concurrent with the present term of Council.

Carried

2. Library Board

22.161 MOVED BYSECONDED BY
Merv Buckwald
Tracey Sanderson

THAT: Brent Patrick, Candace Woolley, Dorothy Langman and Frances O'Malley be appointed to the Board of Directors for the Bonnechere Union Public Library for a period concurrent with the present term of Council.

Carried

3. Bonnechere Valley Youth Action Committee

22.162 MOVED BYSECONDED BY

Brent Patrick

THAT: Jennifer Murphy, Tracey Sanderson, Kayla Desjardins, Shannon Fraser, Kayla Menkhorst, Heather Jamieson, Samantha Jan, Michelle DaSilva, Kelly Anne Reinert, and Samantha Jane be appointed to the Board of Directors for the Bonnechere Youth Action Committee for a period concurrent with the present term of Council.

Carried

4. Eganville and Area Community Development Group

22.163 MOVED BYSECONDED BY
Merv Buckwald
Tracey Sanderson

THAT: Jennifer Murphy, Hilary Robinson, Dave Kruger, Brian Weckwerth and Lynn Beauchamp be appointed to the Eganville and Area Community Development Group for a period concurrent with the present term of Council.

Carried

5. Bonnechere Museum

22.164 MOVED BYSECONDED BY
Brent Patrick
Merv Buckwald

THAT: Tracey Sanderson, Abbie Buch, Allan Dittburner, Gerald Priestley, Helen McMaster, Sharon McMillan, Jack Rosien, Suzanne Scheer, Stuart Tiedmann and Laura Zydrko be appointed to the Board of Directors for the Bonnechere Museum for a period concurrent with the present term of Council.

Carried

6. Emergency Management

22.165 MOVED BYSECONDED BY
Merv Buckwald
John Epps

THAT: The following persons are designated as the Municipal Emergency Control Group for the current term of Council:

- a. The Mayor Jennifer Murphy or (Designated Head of Council)
- b. Councillor Tracey Sanderson
- c. Councillor John Epps
- d. Councillor Brent Patrick
- e. Councillor Merv Buckwald
- f. CAO Annette Gilchrist (Alternate Sandra Barr)
- g. CEMC Erica Rice (Alternate Emma Normoyle)
- h. Public Works Supervisor Jason Zohr (Alternate Dale Verch)
- i. Water/Sewer Department Supervisor Daryl Verch
- j. Recreation Manager Kevin McGrath
- k. The Emergency Information Officer (EIO) Dana Barkley

Carried

7. Emergency Management Program Committee

22.166 MOVED BYSECONDED BY
Brent Patrick
Merv Buckwald

THAT: Councillor John Epps be appointed to the Emergency Management Program Committee for period concurrent with the present term of council, and that the Chair of the Committee be CEMC, Erica Rice, Senior Administrator representative be Annette Gilchrist and Fire Chief Dave Murphy as Emergency Service Representative.

Carried

8. Deputy Mayor

22.167 MOVED BY John Epps

SECONDED BY Tracey Sanderson

THAT: Council appoint a Deputy Mayor for each one-year term as follows:

2022-2023 Merv Buckwald 2024 Brent Patrick 2025 John Epps

2026 Tracey Sanderson

Carried

9. Committee of the Whole Chairs

22.168 MOVED BYSECONDED BY
Brent Patrick
Mery Buckwald

THAT: The Mayor and all members of Council be appointed to Standing Committees of Council, and that the Chairs be appointed for a two-year term as follows:

Public Works Committee - all of Council Chair 2022-2024 - Brent Patrick Chair 2025-2026 - John Epps

Administrative Committee - all of Council Chair 2022-2024 - Merv Buckwald Chair 2025-2026 - Tracey Sanderson

Carried

10. Signing Authority

22.169 MOVED BYSECONDED BY
Brent Patrick
John Epps

THAT: As of November 16, 2022, the following persons have signing authority for the Township of Bonnechere Valley:

Annette Gilchrist, CAO, Sandra Barr, Deputy CAO, Mayor Jennifer Murphy, Councillor Tracey Sanderson, Councillor John Epps and Councillor Brent Patrick, and require any two to sign.

Carried

ADOPTION OF MINUTES

Minutes from October 18, 2022 Regular Council Meeting for approval.

22.170 MOVED BY Merv Buckwald SECONDED BY Brent Patrick

THAT: The minutes of the Regular Council Meeting held on October 18, 2022 as presented be hereby adopted.

Carried

Minutes from October 27, 2022 Regular Council Meeting for approval.

22.171 MOVED BYSECONDED BY
Brent Patrick
Merv Buckwald

THAT: The minutes of the Special Council Meeting held on October 27, 2022 as presented be hereby adopted.

Carried

REPORTS

- CAO Inaugural Presentation
- Water and Sewer Department
- Public Works Department
- Fire Department
- Building and By-Law Enforcement
- Community Development Summary
- Recreation Department
- Financial Information Summary

CORRESPONDENCE

- (A) Correspondence "A"
 - (i) AMO Policy Update Bill 23
 - (ii) AMO Watchfile
 - (iii) County Council October Summary
- (B) Correspondence "B"
 - (i) Affordable Housing Alliance Letter
 - (ii) Emergency Management Plan Regulation Deadline for Comments
 - (iii) Notice of Official Plan Amendment No. 35
 - (iv) Request for Mural at Bonnechere Union Public Library
 - (v) Request to Close and Purchase Road Allowance
- (C) Correspondence "C"

22.172 MOVED BY

SECONDED BY

Brent Patrick

Mery Buckwald

WHEREAS direction has been given to staff;

NOW BE IT RESOLVED THAT: the correspondence be filed.

Carried

NEW/UNFINISHED BUSINESS

CLOSED SESSION - NONE

BY-LAWS

22.173 MOVED BYSECONDED BY
Brent Patrick
John Epps

THAT:

- (1) **By-Law 2022-077** Being a By-Law to amend zoning by-law 2022-042
- (2) By-Law 2022-078 Being a By-Law appoint a Committee of Adjustment
- (3) By-Law 2022-079 Being a By-Law to confirm the proceedings of Council

BE READ A FIRST TIME, BE DEEMED READ A SECOND TIME, BE DEEMED READ A THIRD TIME AND PASSED.

<u>ADJOUI</u>	<u>RNMENT</u>			Carried
22.174	MOVED BY SECONDED BY	Brent Patrick Tracey Sanderson		
THAT: 7	This Council meeting be	adjourned at 3:57 p.n	n.	Carried
Mayor Je	ennifer Murphy		CAO Annette Gilchrist	